Happy Birthday to You, My Friends

“Piglet sidled up to Pooh from behind. “Pooh?” he whispered.
“Yes, Piglet?”
“Nothing,” said Piglet, taking Pooh’s hand. “I just wanted to be sure of you.” 
― A. A. MilneWinnie-the-Pooh

Yesterday, in our world, something had happened. My friends and I were in Zulfikar`s room waiting another friend that would also come into there. We had came here from dzhuhur to prepare and decorate his room. What we were preparing are a party for our class and two of my friends who had birthday as well. It was unique because one of them, Fadhlan, had known what we were doing that day because he was also there to help us preparing the room. It made him prepare for his own birthday party. However, another one, Yuli, did not know what will happen and therefore we had an idea to suprise her that day.

83277

The results of our decoration. It says “welcome class c.”

I was sitting cross-legged on the floor  In front of me, Yuli, were sitting as well. She was talking with Elmi and Adetya beside her. In my left, I saw three persons, Ronald, Bush, and Fadhlan, lying on the matress. They were so tired after roasting chicken on afternoon. Therefore, on the chair, it had been ready about twenty roasted chicken and its smell were so temp that to neutralize it, I covered them with a piece of paper.

S__6701156

Bush were doing something with the tablet while the smell of roasted chicken were so temp

We were talking about many things, started from complaining why the others were so late and in the end we were talking about the process of student orientation in our department in the past. Therefore, the cold wind that blowed and touched our skin had no power to make us seeking another warmer place because we were keep talking and unconsciously, the conversation kept us still warm.

Time went by, I looked at my phone and found that it was already seven o`clock. I wondered when the others will come until Evira, quietly, giving a sign to me. I tried to recognize her mouth while she was speaking silenty.

“They have been here, beside the door and the cakes are ready.”

Here? the cakes? I almost forgot with them because of the conversation. I tried to peek outside, and could not find anyone there. I had waited about five minutes long, but nothing happened. I nearly believed that she was lying

However, I was wrong.

Suddenly, two girls, Cika and Tari, came inside the room. Each of them brang a cake. One of the cakes was brown and I could guess that it was chocolate there whereas the other one was so colorful. It had red, green, yellow, and blue like a rainbow and therefore I, in my mind, called it as the rainbow cake.

IMG_20140915_192016

Tari (Left) and Cika (Right) brang two cakes while singing “happy birthday.”

There are some candles on both of the cakes and it had been lighted. Behind the girls, there were also more of them, all of whom were Aditya, Adetya, and Ana. All of the newcomes were song a birthday song when they came in and therefore we, except Fadhlan and Yuli, sang the song as well spontaneously.

“Happy birthday Yuli. Happy birthday Fadhlan. Happy birthday, happy birthday, happy birthday to you.”

 

IMG_20140915_194002

The chocolate cake

IMG_20140915_193956

The rainbow cake

The room became warmer when they came. The light of candles were so bright that it made the room much even warmer.

37033_10200467844880121_1183319777_n

Classmates

Seeing all of them laughting and smiling, I realized that what is important is not the celebrating of the birthday, but what is the meaning of friends it is. Aristotle asks “What is a friend?” He answers that a friend is “[a] single soul dwelling in two bodies.” Therefore, when I think why we did all this thing for Fadhlan and Yuli, we can answer it. We did it to make them happy because when they are happy, as friends, we will be happy as well.

“We’ll be Friends Forever, won’t we, Pooh?’ asked Piglet.
Even longer,’ Pooh answered.”
― A. A. MilneWinnie-the-Pooh 

Leave a comment

Filed under Class C

Leave a Reply

