Waduk Jatiluhur: A Lake Isle of Innisfree

Probably, I would start this post by quoting first stanza of a poem.

I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,
And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made:
Nine bean rows I will have there, a hive for the honey bee,
And live alone in the bee loud glade,

Yesterday, I went to Purwakarta and visited Waduk Jatiluhur. Waduk Jatiluhur is one of the best tourism place in Purwakarta, a city in West Java, Indonesia. Honestly,  I ever went to this place. It is located not far away from the city. However, to reach the place, you need to use public transportation called angkot except you have private transportation like motorcycle or car. It is easier to use GPS since the internet signal is pretty good there. I suggest to take angkot or simply walk in order to fulfill your desire touring Purwakarta with better experience. If you do, you can simply take angkot 011 from Terminal Ciganea. The cost is Rp. 8000, 00. If you have any problem finding the car, simply asking another angkot’s driver. They won’t hesitate to help you unless they don’t understand what you talking about (I mean your language).

Then, I think I shall continue the next stanza.

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,
Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;
There midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
And evening full of the linnet’s wings.

Waduk Jatiluhur is big. Thus, you cannot explore all of the area in one day. Most of the tourism activity, there, are focused on the water recreation like playing in water (I mean swimming) and riding boat. Another thing you can do is eating fish because there are a lot of people selling food around. Another option is taking a good place to have some good picture (I mean take a photos) and it was what we have done a lot yesterday.

One of better place for taking pictures in Waduk Jatiluhur is Istora. To enter the place, you need to pay Rp. 10.000, 00. You also get a free ice cream by exchange the ticket later (what a good news). Most of the building in Istora are painted white and it what make me feel peace when entering the place. Nevertheless, what you are able to do there are only two things, getting photos and eating, plus chatting if you bring any friends. The scenery is nice. Some building also set by mimicking the cabin of a boat. Therefore, it make me interested.

Yet, I should continue the last stanza of Yeat’s poem.

 I will arise and go now, for always night and day.
I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadways, or the pavemments grey,
I hear it in the deep heart’s a core.

In the end, I feel glad visiting Waduk Jaluhur. Hope be able to go there again. These are some photos which I though creating peace for me when I look at them at Istora. Enjoy!

*The poem is The Lake Isle of Innisfree written by WILLIAM BUTLER YEATS.

Leave a comment

Filed under Traveling

Leave a Reply

